Why Do Tweets Go Viral? Our 10 Most Successful Tweets and the Psychology Behind Why They Worked

If you’re anything like me, there are only a handful of things more exciting for a social media marketer than when a Tweet “goes viral.”

 

Tina Fey sums up the feeling nicely:

 

Tina Fey excited, viral tweet, successful tweets

 

And so I set about with the audacious goal for this post of trying to unravel the great social media mystery of virality: Figuring out the formula for Twitter’s most successful tweets.

 

Better yet, I hoped to determine the formula for Buffer’s most successful tweets so that I could repeat the process and share what I’ve learned with marketers everywhere.

 

Now that info would make for a great tweet!

 

I didn’t quite find the holy grail for tweeting, though I did discover several elements that lead to successful tweets. I’d love to share all my findings with you and how you can replicate their success by understanding the psychology behind why they work.

 

 

 

The 10 best Buffer tweets

 

To gather the data for this article, I used MyTopTweet to pull together Buffer’s 10 most successful tweets and attempted to create a best-practices guide on why our top tweets worked and how marketers can repeat our success.

 

First, I’d love to run through the key elements of each tweet and then I’ll go into a bit more detail about each element and how you can utilize them in your own Twitter strategy.

 

After looking at the different types of Buffer tweets and also researching a variety of tweets from top brands, I found that there is no magic formula for virality, but there are elements to successful tweets. In other words, recurring themes continually appeared in many of the tweets that I studied.

 

Here are the top 10 Buffer tweets and the elements that made them great:

 

1. 

 
 

//platform.twitter.com/widgets.jsKey Tweet elements

 
 
    • Self-explanatory image
 
    • “Ah-ha” moment
 
    • Relatable and insightful topic
 
    • “Wow” factor
 
 

2.

 
Leave a Reply

