Ask HN: Anyone hired a whole team to build a new startup?

I am wondering if anyone has ever hired a whole team to build a new startup based on an idea and if it worked? I am in the position where I have a number of very high quality business ideas, the money to fund them, but just no time to build a new startup.

Rather than just let these ideas rot, my thought is to hire a team to build the startup(s), but I have a feeling that this might not work well in practice. I want to create a true startup and share the equity, but I worry that all I will end up with is some poorly supervised employees working half-heartly on an idea they don’t care about.

Has anyone ever tried this approach or heard of it being a successful strategy?

Leave a Reply

